top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura Barbour

The third space


I didn't necessarily expect to be dressed in a Bigfoot Research Institute lab coat in a room full of small children, but it wasn't a terrible way to spend a Thursday morning...


826 Boston is a non-profit youth writing and publishing organisation that works with underserved youth in the Boston area. 826 might be the coolest organisation ever. Founded by author Dave Eggers and award-winning educator Nínive Calegari, there are a number of centres (dubbed 'Chapters') across the USA. Each Chapter has a quirky storefront, for example, a time travel mart, a superhero supply store, a magic supply store.) 826 Boston creates an intriguing first impression with their very official-looking 'Greater Boston Bigfoot Research Institute' facade.

Thanks to the lovely Carolyn, Director of Programs and Community Engagement, I was able to spend the day soaking up the 826 magic. I have to be honest here: when I received an email the day before my visit and saw that the morning's itinerary involved a 4th grade field trip, my initial thought was, “Oh Christ.” You see, I’m not really much of a ‘child person’. Any shred of maternal capacity that lives deep within my cavernous soul is dedicated to my cat babies/loves of my life/sweet hairless potatoes. I love teaching teenagers because they’re in that interesting transition phase between childhood and adulthood and they’re almost fully formed humans! I don’t really understand tiny humans. How do you talk to them? How much do they understand? What on earth are they thinking? It’s a minefield. That being said, when I found myself trying to cajole ten year-old David, who couldn’t possibly complete his writing task because all he could think of was the brownie waiting for him back in the classroom, I wondered whether tiny humans are actually more relatable than I had given them credit for…


The students from Curtis Guild Elementary School were visiting to plan, write, edit and publish their very own book. All within two hours. It is one of the most impressive and heart-warming things I have ever witnessed! When the class arrived, they were given a welcome talk in the Bigfoot research store, which includes a model of Bigfoot, a pet tarantula and an array of cryptozoology equipment. They were then led into the main centre, where I was waiting with my fellow volunteers, all clad in official lab coats. I was given the task of taking each student’s author photograph that would be printed on the back cover of their book, which I was probably disproportionately excited about! Then the class all gathered to begin brainstorming and writing their book, which ultimately involved Harvey Joseph the cat ('Crazy' to his pals) – who has watermelons in place of legs, obviously – travelling to a distant planet in his rocket ship. Whilst the students were given some guidelines to follow (e.g. we must have a beginning, middle and end, we must have characters, setting etc.) they ultimately had complete creative freedom to be wild, to be silly, to be funny… and they absolutely loved it. They were barely able to contain themselves as they contributed ideas.

There was also an illustrator involved, working live to create a design for the book in front of the students. Whilst the students worked, they were interrupted intermittently by Skype calls from the grumpy and hard-to-please ‘publisher’, demanding that they ensure the 12 noon deadline was met. Every one of the 31 ten year olds in the room was mesmerised and ‘bought in’ to the project, thanks in part, I’m sure, to the energetic and enthusiastic encouragement from the 826 staff and volunteers. There was something really magical about seeing the uninhibited joy and keenness amongst the kids, then the pride they took in having a personal copy of their finished book to take home, thanks to a production line of volunteers and the centre’s $5000 book binding machine!


As they trotted out through a line-up of high fives and applause from us, full of pride and buoyancy, I couldn’t help but think of these 4th graders’ futures as teenagers. It seemed sad to think that at twelve, thirteen, fourteen… many of them will inevitably become self-conscious, inhibited and full of the awkwardness and tribulation of teenage years. I couldn’t help but wonder (Oh, hello, inner Carrie Bradshaw) how we as teachers can preserve that youthful wonder. How can we keep them vibrating with enthusiasm when their hands are stretched skyward, desperate to offer an idea? How can we prevent the viral reticence that stops teenagers from participating for fear of judgement? In Scotland, in the transitional years of finishing primary school and settling into the first few years of high school, attainment dips. A recent Scottish Survey of Literacy and Numeracy reveals that a child’s academic progress peaks during Primary 7. By S2, results in all areas (reading, writing, talking and listening) have dropped significantly. To exemplify: when talking skills were assessed in Primary 7, pupils’ progress was at its highest, where 67% of children were performing “well, very well or beyond their level.” When the same children were assessed again in S2, only 49% were performing “well, very well or beyond their level. I don’t know what the magical solution to counter this 'dip' is but it can’t be a bad idea to ensure there are many opportunities to develop creative freedom in the classroom. I also know how easy it is to welcome my wee S1s on a dreich Monday morning with a husky, caffeine-deprived “Morning, guys…” but I am going to have to find and maintain my American energy or how can I possibly expect them to be excited and engaged? We always say that teaching is a performance but sometimes I suspect my persona is more Jo Brand than Miss Honey...


When I spoke with 826 staff Carolyn and Karen, they stressed the importance of a young person’s social and emotional development in these crucial formative years. To measure the impact of the after-school tutoring programme they offer, all students complete a pre and post programme survey, which is very similar to my own questionnaire that I have been using in my research. Students are asked to rate the extent to which they agree with statements such as “I like to share my writing with others” and “I am proud of my writing.” The ‘before and after’ element of this tracking method is obviously key here. The staff report that, although it is not an exact science, there is a mostly positive trajectory in terms of survey responses. Karen feels specifically that conversations about writing are key to a young person’s social and emotional resilience. I was also interested to discuss with Karen the issue of having a young writer share their work, particularly to a public audience. (For example, 826 are having a party to launch their latest publication soon and writers will have the opportunity to read their work aloud.) I asked Karen her thoughts on getting to the stage where young people feel able to publicly perform like this. She feels quite strongly that this part of the writing process should not be forced. She asserts that there is still great power in having someone else – for example, a tutor - read your work aloud on your behalf. Hearing the words you have written spoken aloud and noting how an audience responds to them can be incredibly empowering. I have been quite fixated on the idea of public reading being a desirable end-goal in writing, but I appreciate Karen’s perspective, which has given me some food for thought.


In the afternoon, I took a quick ride over to the city’s Northeastern University campus, where 826’s latest Writers’ Rooms is situated. The organisation has partnered with local schools and now has six dedicated Writers’ Rooms in the local community. Priority is given to schools where there are a high proportion of English language learners and students who come from underserved communities. These are dedicated spaces within schools that act as the all-important “third space”, one of 826’s core beliefs. A third space is essentially not an in-school classroom space, but also not just any old place outside of school. There is an academic undertone to the Writers’ Rooms but they all have a relaxed vibe. For example, the space at Northeastern campus is painted orange, there are snacks, hot drinks, sofas, plants, fairy lights… It could easily be mistaken for a cosy little coffee shop. The students of Edward M. Kennedy Academy for Health Careers, a local school, come to the space to work on specific class projects. When I visited, a group of 11th and 12th graders were preparing projects for a Science and Innovation fair. I loved talking to the students, who were welcoming, super polite and had independently come up with unique projects. To illustrate: How many rubber bands does it take to explode a watermelon? (I think the answer was disappointingly low, if I remember correctly. And there wasn’t even an explosion; it was more of a “mushing” apparently… Poor kids.)


It was very cool to see a Science class using the Writers’ Centre. In order to prepare for the fair, they had to have carefully considered what they were writing, how they were writing it and how it was presented. They had to be able to explain their projects using academic but clear language. Additionally, they have to be comfortable with what they had written to ensure they are able to answer questions that come up or provide further clarity. The giant display boards they were creating were in progress and looking brilliant. Seeing meaningful writing and creativity in progress for Science class has already got me thinking about all the different ways a dedicated writing space could be used in my own school. There is much more value to be had by considering the ways other subjects could benefit from the space too. Maths teachers, let’s talk!


Whilst in Boston, I did not spot Bigfoot. I also didn't get to keep my lab coat but I'm trying to be mature about it. I did, however, find an organisation who are doing the most incredible things in their community. The environment that is created at 826 feels very special. Young people are safe, comfortable and excited. Parents and carers who popped in to drop off or collect their children clearly appreciate the warm sense of community. Confidence is growing, freedom and imagination is encouraged and incredible writing is happening. Who needs mythical creatures? The magic at 826 Boston is as real as it gets.




A huge thank you to 826 Boston and, in particular, Carolyn, Annie, Karen and Lauren, for your warm welcome.



109 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page